University CRICKET in the PARKS v Free Foresters CC
June 24 @ 11:00 am - June 26 @ 5:00 pm| Free
Oxford University CC v Free Foresters CC
Oxford University Cricket Club (O.U.C.C.) is the home of men’s cricket at Oxford University, with a long and distinguished history dating back to the 18th century.
The two University sides, the Blues and the Authentics, operate alongside the Brookes-Oxford combined MCCU side, and play their home games in the picturesque University Parks, which has been the home of O.U.C.C. since 1881 when Cricket was first officially played there.
The Free Foresters CC (click here), first took the field on 20 July 1856 when the Rev W.K.R. Bedford raised a side of amateurs to play against the Pilgrims of Dee in the grounds of his rectory in Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire. The team adopted the title Free Foresters – ‘Foresters’ referring to the nearby forests of Arden in Warwickshire and Needwood in Staffordshire, and ‘Free’ because members would be free to play against the club without permission, rather than being ‘tied’ to FF alone – hence the FF motto United Though Untied.